This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yes, the inmates are in charge of the asylum

I posted some time ago about the problems I've been having with a certain company where I do most of my work.

For those who don't know, I'm an independent contractor, and the lion's share of my work comes from a company here. Until fairly recently, it was a very laid-back place to work.

Until someone had the stupid idea to hire someone who would be "in charge" of the independent contractors. Keep in mind, we are NOT employees. We pay our own taxes and health insurance. We are paid job-by-job. (We are paid woefully behind any sensible schedule, might I add.)

Well, we had a great system, until somebody decided to fuck it all up by hiring the woman I call Control Freak. I've met her, and I don't have a personal problem with her (not yet, anyway), but I do have a HUGE professional problem with her. She sends us messages that waste our time in answering them, and they are thoroughly irrelevant to what we are doing. She comes up with these stupid rules and expects us to follow him. Not ONCE has she ever asked us how WE do it, how it's been done BEFORE, etc. No, no, no; we have to do it as SHE tells us to do it, despite the fact that this woman is a true marvel of ineptitude.

I met with her, and her superior, and their smiling, united front was, "We're in charge." I wouldn't be at all surprised if Control Freak's superior was the one who hired her, since it seems the two of them are good friends. In which case, if anyone ever pulls their head out of their ass and realizes that Control Freak is an unnecessary expense, they should fire her superior, too. They have two people who are doing (or not doing) a job that they don't even need to be done at all.