This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Working for family

Now that I've quit the job from hell, I've been asked by my dad to work for his business doing bookkeeping and office management stuff. I've never worked for him before, so I'm a little unsure...but he's offering me really flexible hours, and he's desperately in need of someone organized, so I've decided to go ahead and do it.
    I worked for my sister and brother-in-law for three years, and loved it. So hopefully this won't be any different.
    Anyone else ever had a family member as a boss? How did you find it?

If you have to ask, it's probably better posted at www.fratching.com

I've really enjoyed it; I've worked with/for my parents since I was ten. The great thing about working for family is that they'll generally be a lot more understanding about your schedule or if something comes up and with my parents, they treated me with the same respect that they'd have afforded another employee. It's a small company, so we've only ever had co-ops working for us.
    "Being crazy was the only thing that kept me from going insane."
    - Raven

Comment

I worked for my then-future father in law. Since I married into a fairly nice family (crazy at times, but then again, so is mine), it worked out.

That's the serious question. You know your family. Can you trust them to not take advantage of you because you're family? Can they trust you not to take advantage of them because they're family?

If yes to both of those: can you do the job properly, or at least learn it relativly quickly? Can they pay you regularly, on time, and the proper amount?

If yes to both of those, you shouldn't have a problem. People working for their family has been fairly common throughout history. It's just when being family gets in the way of business that problems occur.

Comment