This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ive been gone so long...

..that I didnt know this forum existed ?!?! WHATT? When was this put here? Anyhow, I have a whopper of a tale.

As some may know, I work as an RN in a local hospital here. Our patient population has gotten increasing older and more confused so as you can imagine, stuff happens.

So, Im happily giving medications to a pleasant woman, making conversation when I hear my name being screamed from the hallway. I excuse myself and run up the hall, I can literally follow the screams to the room.

I enter the room and see the following: The nurse who called me is standing to the side watching a one legged patient putting the nurses aide in a headlock while simultaneously pulling out her hair.

So, this patient doesnt speak english which is why they called me, I start yelling in spanish she lets go. I get enough out of her to know shes veryyy confused and think shes in the street and needs to go home. I stay with her and calm her down and get the story.

What had happened was this: The aide, "Linda" went in to change her bed sheets b/c the patient had thrown her water at the nurse...not sure why. As soon as the aide grabbed the sheets, the patient hopped up in bed and literally punched the aide in the face. "Linda", thinking to stop her and possibly calm her down, grabs the patients arms and gets the shit pinched out of both her forearms. As if that werent enough, the patient somehow manages to kick Linda in the chest with her one leg. This somehow devloves into what I see when I walk in, Linda in a headlock and the patient pulling on her hair. I swear this is crazy sounding but true. Im pretty sure that this entire event was witnessed by the other nurse...why she didnt interfere IDK except for maybe she was trying not to get beat as well...if it were me, I wouldve been prying the patient off of "Linda".