Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Just caught a couple scammers dead in their tracks!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just caught a couple scammers dead in their tracks!

I'm in the kitchen eating breakfast, and I hear several LOUD knocks/slams on the front door. Cue my opening the door with a, "what the hell did that poor door ever do to you?" face.

As soon as I open the door, two guys about my age are standing on the front steps. They're part of the outfit that comes door-to-door supposedly selling magazines to benefit the military and band fund at my former HS (which didn't exist when I graduated). Okay, whatever. I listen to their sales pitch a while, and they make me feel completely awkward. My red flags were already rising at that point, until they said something that sent every rising red flag right to the top of the pole: apparently they graduated from my high school the same year I graduated, but I'd never seen them before. You'd think I'd remember someone who graduated in my class with a name so close to mine walking the stage at graduation, right? I thought I was going through major memory loss.

Something deep inside me told me I wasn't completely crazy, so I came back inside with their "business card" and sat down at my computer. You see, I was an editor on my HS yearbook staff for my entire HS career. Part of those editorial duties was running about 25-30 index runs per year as names were added to the yearbook. Naturally, I had about 120 different index runs to check, but I only checked the final drafts from each year. Those were really the only important ones since those would've been the ones we sent off to be published.