Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

And You're Supposed to Be a Professional?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• And You're Supposed to Be a Professional?

**Disclaimer**
    I'm an admin assistant at the head office of a child care agency, which has several daycare centres located in the city. I am aware of only the necessary details: the name of each centre, the names of the supervisors and employees at each centre, and each centre's location and contact information, because that's part of my job. But knowing anything beyond that is not my job.

Some of those "beyond" details, as I learned this past Friday, are the fact that, from my understanding (or lack of), those daycare centres are involved with schools or other daycare centres. To tell the truth, I am still not clear whether or not that is the case. But like I said - knowing this is not part of my job. However, after this experience, I'm going to make sure that it is!
    **Disclaimer**

While covering phones for the receptionist, who was busy with a large photocopying job, a representative from a major bank called.

Rep: Is this the head office for <name of school I've never heard of>.

Me: Actually, no. We're <name of child care agency>.

Rep: I. Know. That. But you're the head office for <name of school I've never heard of>.

Me: Actually, no we're not. We're -

Rep: Yes. You. Are. My information says here that this is the head office for <name of school I've never heard of>. I NEED to speak to the supervisor.

Me: Are you sure it's not for our homework club? Because the names of our daycare centres are <lists off names of daycare centres>.

Rep: No! I need the name of the supervisor of <name of school I never heard of>.

Me: But the only supervisor is -

Rep: Look, I NEED to speak to the supervisor of <name of school I never heard of>. This is concerning a very serious issue. And this IS the head office of <that school>.