X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I look poor?

In case you don't know, I'm a teacher.

Right before last school year started, I decided to get new windshield wipers. So I went to this car parts shop that keeps almost everything behind the counter, so you have to go to the counter and ask for what you want. They also install free with purchase.

(Clerk and I exchange pleasantries and car information. He uses the computer, goes to the back, and comes back holding them.)
    Clerk: These are the cheapest we have. Here ya go.
    Me: Actually, what I was----
    Clerk (interrupting): Look, like I told you, these are the cheapest we have. There are no other ones cheaper.
    Me: Actually, I was hoping for something high quality, since I do a lot of driving.
    Clerk: Oh, ok.

(He uses his computer again, goes in the back, and comes back bringing another set.)
    Clerk: Here ya go. These are $15 (I think, it's been a year) more than those ones. I have another one in the back, but it's another $20 more, so I didn't bother bringing those out.
    Me: Ok. Let's ring those up then.

I was planning on buying the mid-range ones anyway, but looking back, I should've walked out. Oh well, too late now.

At this point, another clerk, maybe manager, walks up and is doing paperwork nearby.
    Clerk, after I pay: Here ya go (hands me my wipers)
    Me: Actually I---
    Manager?: Dude, get out there and install it on her car. We do installations here, remember?
    Clerk: Fine *rolls eyes*

And he did it, but begrudgingly. So by now I only half regret the not leaving thing, because I think the manager was ready to let him know his attitude is not appreciated.

So, I ask again, what about me made me look poor?
    Last edited by TexasT; 06-14-2011, 03:58 PM.

Why didn't you complain? The kind of service you got was lousy. I would have went somewhere else.

Comment