Congratulations, you finally broke me

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Congratulations, you finally broke me

I am a professional quilter. Basically you have an idea and I turn it into artwork you can snuggle with. I also have a large stash of fabric set aside to design my own quilts to sell. I'm celebrating 20 years of making quilts this month, which you'd think would be a big deal.

I live in Oklahoma, which is one of the poorest states. There's a lot of people here that only shop at discount stores, meanwhile I'm buying the best quality fabrics and threads to make sure my quilts last a lifetime. It's a very uphill climb to get the great unwashed masses to understand that a cheap Walmart quilt is not the same as one of mine. Unfortunately it makes my life a living hell.

I love making quilts. I'm an artist, so telling me to just stop sewing is like telling someone to stop breathing. I've had other jobs in the past, but I end up with bosses that steal from me or scream in my face for no reason. I can't take that level of abuse either.

Basically whenever I set up at the local event, this same scenario plays out:

Stranger: Oh, I love all your quilts, they're so beautiful! Did you make them?
    Me: Yes Ma'am.
    S: Wow, you're so talented! I really love this one, how much is it?
    M: That's a queen size that won an award at the State Fair, it's $515
    S: What? What the fuck is wrong with you?
    M: Excuse me?
    S: It's just a blanket, you stuck up bitch.
    M: I'd be happy to explain, this is custom printed fabric, and this pattern takes me 45 to 50 hours to complete, so really...
    S: I don't care how much time you wasted. It's only worth $50, take it or leave it.
    M: I'll have to leave it ma'am.
    S: You're such a fucking retard. I can't believe this. You're never going to sell anything with that attitude of yours. *stomps off*
    M: *tries not to cry*