This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your help isn't needed, wanted, or helpful

I'm pushing a cabinet through a doorway. It's a handicapped access door so it stays open automatically. Despite this handy convenience, a woman comes rushing down the hall to the door. I assumed she was just a typical all-important assclown who figures she has a right to go through the door first, so I motioned for her to go through. Instead I find out that she's one of those "helpful" dumbasses who insist it upon themselves to butt in. Now this is not wanted or needed for a few reasons:
    a) the cabinet can fall off the dolly at any time, and/or the dolly can suddenly decide to go in another direction. Although rare, it's a possibility that could happen and hurt someone.
    b) she's standing in the middle of the damn doorway so even if I wanted to, there wasn't enough room
    c) I'm a professional, I know how to work my feet to hold a door
    and d) It's a f***ing automatic door!!! It's being magically held open already

So I politely tell her no thanks, she remains insistent to "help". I assure her that it's quite allright, she assures me that it's quite allright for her to help. I tell her I'm not allowed to, a brief moment of confusion contorts her face and she moves away. Just as she does this, the timer on the automatic door runs out and it begins to close. Like an idiot I lunge forward to grab it, pushing the cabinet forward, and crushing my thumb between the cabinet and the closing door.