This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A new customer low...

I've worked in retail for a long time, and I've dealt with a lot of a-holes, but today tops everything.

I work as a "greeter" (not really a greeter but that's how I appear) and since I'm dressed in a slightly different uniform than my co-workers, customers assume I'm a manager (I'm not). That makes them feel entitled to say whatever horrible thing they want to say to me on their way out of the store.

Well, today, one of our rude regulars came. Usually when I greet him, he ignores me. That's fine , I'm used to people doing that. But today, he wasn't content to be passively rude.

I was standing at my station, and a much younger colleague and I were having a discussion. SC butts in and says, "Are you two related?" (I suppose all blondes with blue eyes have to be related). I jokingly said, "No, but I could probably be her much older aunt." He replies, "Well, you look like you could be related, but she's much prettier".

Admittedly that's true (although I'm not hideous by any means), but why would someone who is butt-ugly themselves feel like it's ok to say something so hurtful? I just pretended I didn't hear him and attended to other customers. But seriously, WTF!!!!!!!!!!!! Customers and retail suck!

Don't you know anything? We retail workers are not humans with feelings. We are there to be screamed at,abused,and have things thrown at us. That includes ugly peoples feelings about how we look.

Comment

"are you related to that dog outside? you look like you could be, but she's much prettier"

Comment

people are a holes. That is so bang out of order!
        Yes. I know my typing sucks but I have a large orange cat sitting on my keyboard and a small disturbed dog trying to sniff his butt

Comment

Thanks for letting me vent. You all have a great night!

Comment

"I may be ugly, but you're stupid, and I can always get plastic surgery."