This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I Suggest You Need More Practice Operating Your Telephone Machine

I work as an administrative assistant at a childcare agency. When the receptionist is busy or goes on lunch, I cover the phones for her. This exposes me to people with the worst phone etiquette I have ever encountered.

I can't count the amount of times that, when someone wants to speak to a specific person, they will simply say their name. "SARAH!" Or, "Yeah, Sarah." Saying something like "Can I talk to Sarah?" is better than the previous two, although a PLEASE would be nice.

Then there are the people who mistake the name of the agency for my name.

Me: "Good morning, Rubber Baby Buggy Bumpers Centre."
    SC: "Uh, hi Rubber Baby Buggy Bumpers!"

Or people who have never heard of receptionists, and/or believe they can reach the person they want to talk to through osmosis.

SC: "Hi, Sarah?"
    Me: *sigh* "Would you like to speak to Sarah?"

Then there are ones who don't realize that only the person with whom they have been in contact is the person they should be talking to. And can't be bothered to find out if they are speaking to the appropriate person before they start talking.

SC: "Hi, my name is Mandy No Manners and I would like to put my son into home daycare. He was born in 2005 and weighed 6 pounds. He started walking by age..."
    Me: *through gritted teeth* "Would you like to speak to someone in Home Child Care?"

Then there are the people who - well, let the following speak for itself.

SC: "Someone here called me?"
    Me: "..."
    SC: "..."
    Me: "Are you using any of our services?"
    Me: "Do you know the name of the person who called you?"
    SC: "Never mind, I'll call back." *click*.

Last week, this lady took the cake.

Me: "Good morning...Rubber Baby Buggy Bumpers..."
    SC: "TELEPHONE ME?"
    Me: "I'm sorry?"
    SC: "YOU CALL ME?"