This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I WANT MEAT AND CHEESE!!!

So, I have been lurking on this site for quite a while now but just recently got a job that is more post-worthy. So I thought I would finally become a member. Hello!

Anyway... I work in a hospital cafeteria and for the most part it is a good job, but there are some people that just annoy the hell out of me. The worst ones are the people who order double cheese burgers (we have a grill section in the cafeteria) and look at the plate in horror when I give them their burger with some lettuce, tomatoes, and pickles on the side. I had one woman who tossed the plate back to me and said "Why did you put that on the plate, I just want meat and cheese!". Now, I know that people can make their own choices about health and all that, but we are in a hospital. If someone is eating here it means that a) they are someone who works in health b) a family member of someone who is having a medical problem, or c) someone who themselves is having medical problems. You would think that these people would be a little more conscious of what they are putting into there bodies. But, the thing that made me post was this little exchange:

Me: Cafeteria slave
    SP: sucky parent

Me: Here you are sir, 3 double cheese burgers.
    SP: *looks at plates* could you take off all the veggies, these are for my kids and I will just have to throw them out anyway.
    Me: *twitch* Okay sir...

Come on! The point of being a parent is that you make your kids eat the veggies, you don't throw them out!

The guy was not being an SC per say, but this has just turned into one of my biggest pet peeves and I can't stand it.

I think this begs the question, would you rather have them give you back the veggies so you can put them on someone else's plate (this is assuming they didn't touch/sneeze on/otherwise contaminate the veggies) who actually wants them, or just throw them out?