X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• That is NOT PC.

*ring ring*

BB: Hello, BookBint speaking.
    DA: This is <Dumbass Author>. I'm ringing about the proofs you sent me.
    BB: Ah yes, I hope they got to you ok. Is this about the index?
    DA: No it is NOT! I've been looking through the pages and have noticed you have made masses of changes. You can't just change my text like this!

Actually I can, I'm a freaking editor, but that's beside the point.

BB: Oh, I'm sorry you're not happy, what changes are you referring to? I'll bring up the PDF on screen.
    DA: Page 149, para 4, the terminology is all wrong!
    BB: Oh. Yes well it's not really acceptable to call Native Americans 'Red Indians' anymore...
    DA: That's just PC nonsence, my readers will get confused, they'll think I'm talking about white Americans.

This is your first book, it's not like you have a fanbase who will be queuing up for hours to get a copy like it's a new Harry Potter...

BB: Well I'm afraid we can't use that kind of language unless it is a direct quotation...

This went on for twenty-five minutes. He wanted me to change back the word 'coloureds' for African Americans. He wanted Germans in WWII to be 'Jerry' and 'Huns'. He wanted me to undo a rewrite which had changed his previous outline of the Indian Mutiny from a blatantly imperialist rant about how naughty the Indians were to dare to rebel against a country which had inslaved them, to a balanced account.

Seriously, I can't tell, are you racist, plain stupid, or have you time-travelled from the 1830s to make my life a little less pleasant?
    Last edited by BookBint; 05-22-2009, 01:06 PM.
    Saying I'm "turning down a sale" and thinking I give an airborne fornication – GUILTY – Irving Patrick Freleigh

You could, politely (to wind him up) point out that if you change it all back to his version, then the chance of it getting published is nil. (Whether that's true or nto it doesn't really matter)