Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Buying Euros in a Small Texas Town (A Bit Long)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying Euros in a Small Texas Town (A Bit Long)

These incidents happened when I used to work as a bank teller about one year ago. Now I truly liked this job so I had very little to complain or any sucky customers. I worked for a branch of one of the largest banks in the U.S. (think of the Stage Coach), and as such, was one of the few banks that bought and sold foreign currency to its checking/savings account-holders (for a S&H fee), which was a convenient service if they plan to travel outside of the country. Now I live in a small Texas town that is quite a distance from the nearest large city.

The other important thing to know is that to get foreign currency, a bank representative would have to order it by phone as bank branches do not carry any foreign currency in their vaults, except for the little they received from buying (in exchange for U.S. dollars) it from account-holders after a trip, which then we quickly send it out to a special office in Nevada because their value can change drastically.

One of the most popular requests were for buying Euros for customers who were traveling to any of the countries in the Eurozone, countries of the European Union that currently use the Euro. The U.K., Sweden, Denmark, and about a dozen new member countries are EU members, but don't use the Euro, so they aren't in the Eurozone.

The Catholic School Principal

SC=Our local Catholic School principal known for having little patience. Normally comes to make deposits for the school's bank account.
    Me=Who else?

Me: Hello, Sister <insert name>, and welcome to <insert bank name>! How can I help you?
    SC: Hello, I need to buy some Euros because I need to go to Europe soon. <starts pulling out all these $20s and $100s in front of me in a hurry> Somebody told me you sold them here!