This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Idiots, Morons, and Crybabies, oh my!

It takes GK only a week to put together one of his epic posts, but the following is from the last month for me. Part of this probably stems from the facts that (A) I love my job, and (B) GK can turn the slightest thing into an epic story because of his amazing storytelling abilities. I'm a good writer, but I cannot approach his artistry with words. Nor--fortunately--the contempt and disdain he has for his customers.

Double Jeopardy

A youngish couple sits down at my bar and orders drinks. As is my duty, I ask for their IDs. The guy produces a valid ID without a problem. The girl, however, looks me square in the eye and says to me, with a straight face: "I don't have my ID with me. Will you take a photocopy of it?"

No. No I won't. Since, you know, the LAW kind of requires that I see your ID, not a Kinko's copy of it. And by the way, while I can think of several very valid reasons for having a photocopy of one's ID, I cannot possibly think of why anyone would have the photocopy with them but not the ID. Nor can I think of why that person would think the photocopy would be acceptable for the purchase of alcohol.

Oh, wait. I can think of answers to both those quandaries: the girl was a flaming idiot.

So, since I can't serve the girl, the couple decides to seek their liquid libation fortune elsewhere. Probably at a bar that takes photocopies of IDs. Which is probably the same bar where the bartenders and the managers gather in the back room to smoke pipes full of Crayola crayons. There's a rainbow in every box, you know.

But before departing, the guy decides to join his mate in the Pit of Stupid Questions. "Hey, buddy, do you know where I can get some cheap weed?"

*sigh* This again. Okay, let's review, folks.

1. There is no cheap weed.