This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "But the sign doesn't say that...."

Hi, I've been a lurker for a while and thought the time had come to share a story of my own. I work in a store in the UK where every product costs the same, and you wouldn't believe the confusion this actually causes sometimes

Bit of background then: The product in question was some washing-up liquid, and we sell 2 different-sized bottles of it. The smaller bottles are on a 3-for-2 offer, and the big ones have 50% extra free, so there isn't an offer on those. There's a sign underneath the smaller bottles saying they are 3-for-2 (with the volume of the bottle written on it), and no sign under the big bottles. We've been told by management to check that people know that certain things aren't on offer in order to avoid confusion. And so it begins....

Me - poor woman doing her boss a favour by working on my day off
    SW - Stupid woman
    SWM - Stupid woman's mother
    (Bracketed text) - My thoughts

The woman and her mother come to my till with 3 big bottles of the washing-up liquid, so I tell them these aren't the bottles on 3-4-2, it's the smaller bottles. Naively, I thought they might say "oh ok" and leave it at that, or say they knew and that they still wanted all 3. Nope, these are typical SCs after all!

Me: You are aware that these bottles aren't 3-4-2, aren't you? It's the smaller bottles.

SW: The sign doesn't say that!

Me: (It does, you just haven't read it) It does, it states that the -insert volume here- bottles are 3-4-2, because they are smaller.

SW: The sign doesn't say that!

Me: (GAHHHHH) I can assure you that it does. Whereabouts did you see the sign (and I know JUST what you're going to say woman!)

SW: Well, under the small bottles....

Me: (Bingo!) Which means that the sign only applies to that product. There is no sign under the large bottles, because as you can see, they are 50% bigger so you are getting more for your money.