This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The dumbest protest I've ever seen...

I worked as a manager in a large bookstore when Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix was released. As you all probably know, most of the large chains did some sort of party when the Harry Potter books came out. We were one of them, and management was "encouraged" to dress up for said midnight release party. That's okay, I don't mind dressing like a witch sometimes. It was crazy that night; we had people everywhere. I was running around trying to make sure everything was set up and ready, when I get a page to call the front desk. I called the front desk from the office, and this conversation ensued:

Me: "What's up?"
    OM (Other manager): "We've got a protester here who's demanding to talk to the general manager."
    Me: "Seriously? What are they protesting? The party?"
    OM: "No, they're protesting the fact that we carry the book because it has magic in it or something."
    Me: "Okay, on my way."

Now, please bear in mind that I'm dressed like a witch head to toe, minus the hat because it kept getting in my way. I hurry to the front of the store because a tv crew was coming and I didn't want to them beat me there, only to see...

A seventeen-year-old kid. In jeans and a red t-shirt. No sign, nothing to indicate he's angry about this. I take quick look around, and OM sort of nods to the kid, so I head over to him.

Me: "Can I help you?"
    Kid: "Yeah, I want to protest."
    Me:..."Protest what, exactly?"
    Kid: "This book series. It is evil, and I don't think you should carry it."
    Me: "Um, okay. Noted. Did you want to stand here for the entire release? Because I'm going to have to ask you to move out into the parking lot by eight parking spaces; that's where our property ends."
    Kid: "No, I'm not staying. I just wanted to make sure someone knew I protested."
    Me: "Okay, have a good day."