This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crazy or penny pincher? You decide

I've been working as a cashier for about 18 years now, and just when I think I've seen it all, along comes this guy.... I was working over the weekend and he comes up with his family. As I scan his items, he keeps telling me the price of EVERY SINGLE ITEM He said on a few things, "unauthorized purchase", and I asked him if he wanted me to take those items off, but he said no. On a few other items, if it was more than the price he said, he wanted me to change it (nothing big, 10 cents to a dollar) and if it was less he would give a big smile and said, "we'll take that!"
    This guy was creeping me out a little bit, and I was almost certain that he was going to start haggling over prices or start giving me a hard time. But he simply paid for his stuff and left. Needless to say, his wife and kid remained mostly quiet throughout the whole thing. I guess they knew better than to interrupt his fun or too embarassed to say something to him like, "Stop doing that. Do you realize how dumb you look right now?" although I'm sure he wouldn't care. He seems to be that kind of person. It should be noted he wasn't rude or anything like that, but in my book he still qualifies as a sucky customer.
    I have never ever had anyone do this before, never. He was either crazy or he was a penny pincher or maybe both. When I checked out the next person in line, she said she was giving very serious consideration to leaving my line and going to another one because she was scared of this guy and what she thought he might probably do. I don't blame her one bit! Course I would've stayed in line and watched, then console the poor cashier who has to put up with an idiot like that.

Weird type of Obsessive Compulsive disorder?

Madness takes it's toll....
    Please have exact change ready.

Comment

Quoth Merriweather View Post
      Weird type of Obsessive Compulsive disorder?