This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wherein I'm not important

I'm a delivery driver.. Most people are courtious enough to cut on their porch light. Some however don't, I just recently bought a 3 million candle spot light to find the house numbers and to light the way when people do not cut on their porch lights.. Before I bought the spot light if I pulled up and there was no light and no other light source (e.g. street light) I would call the number on my cell and ask them to please cut their porch light on. Most are apologetic and cut it on, some get rather pissy with me.

I pull up to a house and there is no porch light, it is almost pitch black and I can't even see the side walk, so I call the customer up and ask them to turn on their porch light, the woman that answered the phone scoffed and said "Fine" as if I was asking her to jump to the moon.

After she cuts her porch light on, I get out of my car and go to the door and knock, this woman with a rather snooty expression on her face answers the door:

SC: Why'd I have to turn my porch light on?
    Me: For my safety
    SC: (snorts) What could happen if I didn't?
    Me: I could get robbed, get injured on your property
    SC: You're just a delivery driver, who would care?
    Me: Me, I'd care.. My 4 kids would care, my family would care, my husband, my friends and so on.. And you'd care after I sued you for negligence.
    SC: As if you could sue me
    Me: I could, and I'd win too.. I've had to sue a customer before after I was injured on their property and I won.
    SC: ... (Apparently at a loss for words)
    Me: Enjoy that sandwich, it's the last one that will be delivered to you
    SC: You can't do that!
    Me: I can, and I will.

I left, when I got back to the store the bitch had called and cussed out the manager who then black listed her. I explained what happened and we left a note for the GM explaining what was going on and that this woman might call back.