This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Similar Phone Numbers and Crazy People

Okay, so first I need to give you a bit of background. My fiance got a huge promotion at work which involved us relocating. Luckily, the store where I work as a pharmacy tech has locations in the new city and they allowed me to transfer. That's basically it, but the fact that I've moved is important because this situation involves our new phone number.

There is a local company that is selling an exciting product. They recently mailed out a brochure about this product and there is quite a bit of interest. I learned of the whole thing because I've received a few calls about it. I discovered why today with a bit of a Google search. My new telephone number is 555-1320. this companies telephone number is 1-800-555-1320. (Not the real number obviously, but you get what's going on.)

I can tell from the missed call list that literally dozens of people have called my home phone during the day while I'm at work. Most of them simply hung up once they hear my recorded message and realize they called the wrong number. But a few people have actually left messages about the product. One older man actually left his credit card number on my machine!

I don't understand how people can be so careless! My message is clear enough that a normal person would realize that they've called a private residence and not a business.

I am not going to return calls to people and tell them that they called the wrong number and I'm not going to change my answering machine message to state that I am not the company they meant to call. If I get any nasty calls from people who are mad because they weren't called back, I'm going to tell them how stupid they are.