Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Suspension (of account information and reality)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suspension (of account information and reality)

So I work for a rather large corporation answering customer phone calls and here at our company we take customer security very seriously.

One day not too long ago I got a call from a musician who wanted to get some account information transferred over to his email address.

The problem with this is he is not the one that owns the initial account. That would be the distributor he is leaving in order to produce and distribute his music himself.

The call started off rather simply, something along the lines of this:

Caller: I'm a musician and I'm no longer doing business with my distributor. I'd like to transfer the information for my music over to this email address.

(Now I checked the account and saw that he had already made a request of the department that would handle such matters and they told him to contact using the email address connected to the account.)

Me: I can send the information on to the correct department but the request would have to made using the account your music is saved to.

Caller: I just need to have the information suspended. i don't want it removed completely.

Me: I understand that, but we can't make changes to an account that hasn't been verified. You need to contact your distributor to have them make the necessary request to transfer information.

Caller: They aren't open today. I can't call them.

Me: Well they are the ones that hold the account the information is on, so you would need to contact them and either get the information to confirm the account or have them make the request.

Caller: But there's no need to delete the information completely. Just suspend it.