• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drink the white liquid.

SC:
    T: Trainee
    M: manager

I worked at the KSU student union in the cafeteria. This was YEARS ago.
    We had the really big coffee urns for mornings, then the smaller regular pots for day time.

When we're done with the big ones in the morning, we put cleaning solution.
    It is VERY white.
    We put the caps over the pull down things that dispense the coffee.
    We put hanging signs on the dispesnors saying DO NOT USE
    We put a sign about 3 feet wide and two feet high in front saying:
    Contains cleaning solution Do not drink. Then a big arrow to right
    Coffee to right.

A woman comes up to me and says something is wrong with your coffee.
    I explain the situation.
    I was training a new person and say "see, sometimes people don't see the signs and we have to explain things."
    She comes back to me and yells.
    SC "I am a professor. I have a PhD. I am not a stupid <female dog>. Do not call me one."
    ME: "Ma'am. I didn't."
    SC "YES YOU DID."
    T "no ma'am, he didn't."
    She turns and marches up to the manager and starts yelling that I called her a stupid <female dog>.
    Both I and the trainee explain what happened.
    She continues to yell and complain.
    M: "Don't insult customers."
    ME: "I didn't."
    T: "He didn't."

This goes on. I'm getting in trouble for something I didn't do.
    I realize I've been working here for 3 years. I have had 3 raises of TEN CENTS AN HOUR each time. Heck with this.

I yell.