Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm only certified to do this... (Long)

I don't know how many of you remember when I worked for Bank of America? I was about ready to kill myself, luckily, I got laid off. I decided to put my automotive service degree to use. I am employed now in the industry and thanks to schooling, some side gigs and a side business, I had enough qualified time to put towards my ASE certifications (only 1 certification left before I am a master tech).

Sucky Customers...unfortunately...exist here too.

SC: My battery keeps dying every night, I need a new one.

Me: Well if a battery is dying over night, but you are able to get a jump and drive it every day, it could be that you have some sort of parasitic draw on the battery that is killing it. I would like to charge your battery, see if it holds a charge and then check it for draw before we just replace it.

SC: No, I don't want to pay all that money when I know it is the battery. I use to be a mechanic.

Me: (Thinking: Um, why would anyone with mechanical skills not just go buy a battery and swap it out in the AutoZone parking lot? Probably because this guy clearly isn't a mechanic.) The price of the diagnostic is put towards the repair cost, it will actually save you money in case it is something else and you have to bring it back.

SC: I could always bring it somewhere else if you don't want to do it for me.

Me: I will replace the battery, but I can't warranty it without ensuring the charging and electrical system is functioning properly.

SC: That's fine, I just want the battery changed.

Me: No problem, I can have it done with-in the hour, are you going to wait or pick it up later?

SC: An hour to replace a battery!?

Me: I have another customer's car on the lift right now, just finishing up and then I can get to your car.

SC: I don't have all day, I will just leave it and get it tonight, but I need it tonight for sure.