This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thief!

Not quite sure if this counts, so if it doesn't please remove it, but I'm putting it here for now.

I'm an artist, as a lot of you know already, and I take commissions, but sometimes I do art trades. I make these little trotting MLPFiM animations of people's characters, and I only take art trades for them out of respect for the friend who taught me how to make them, who does paid commissions for them. That said, I do still consider the people I make them for my customers, as they're 'paying' me with artwork in return for them.

I recently did one of a character called Vanilla Jubilee (viewable in my gallery here , and in return the girl I made it for sent me this as repayment, of my character Sweet Honey Crisp (sometimes mistakenly called Sweet Apple Crisp, it happens a lot). That was all well and good, but while I was browsing around the internet looking at pictures of ponies, which is what I do in my free time (I'm sort've a loser that way) I came across... this.

Trotters don't take a lot of time, at least not for me, but they are still pretty difficult to make, especially with characters with complicated markings, jewelry, hair or whatever. GOD, if they're wearing bracelets or socks or have markings on their legs...that's a good chunk of effort right there, so they're not as easy as a lot of people think they are. They can actually be very complex, especially ones with a lot of custom stuff, like capes or pets or whatnot. So, if I do an art trade for one, I expect you to put as much effort into your payment, or at least have it be original if it's not very detailed or whatever. I certainly do NOT expect you to rip out another person's picture, slap my character's cutie mark on it, and call it original art!