This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• We do not haggle - stop it!

I have two (soon to be three) jobs. A couple of evenings, I deliver chinese food, but during the day I work in Customer Service for a small company that makes water filtration products.

When we are busy, our calls are diverted to a call centre, who will email us the details.

BG/Off

Last week, I start getting some emails pinging in about a gentleman having an issue with his tap. I respond as soon as I am able - voicemail. I leave a message on his vmail. Lather, rinse, repeat x 3

Phone rings and what do you know, it's Mr SC

SC: "Finally, you answer the phone"
    Me: "Sorry that we keep missing each other, sir, how can I help?"
    SC: "Why don't you answer the phone?"
    Me: "Well, (starts explaining about busy times, call centre etc) but he cuts me off -
    SC: "I don't care about that, why don't you answer your phone?"
    Me: "Why don't you, numbnuts?" (ok, I was thinking it).

Anyway, imagine this x 2 or 3 more times.

SC: "My tap is leaking and I need a new one."
    Me: "Sorry sir, but your tap is out of warranty by six years. We can send you a new part which will stop the leak, but it's £25.00."
    SC: "It leaks so badly, we have switched it off at the mains. I have been without water for three weeks, how come it is so much? You can't charge me that!! It is only a little red thing, how can it be so much? Rawwwwwrrr"
    Me: "We do not make them sir, we buy them in and that is our price, we have no leeway to play with."
    SC: "Rawrrrrr, it is disgusting, you are causing my children to go without water. I will pay £5.00 and no more. "
    Me: "I'm very sorry, sir, but there is nothing more I can do."

Repeat x 17 minutes worth (yes, I timed it).

SC: "So, that is £25.00 for both of them?"
    Me: "You want two?"
    SC: "Yes, for £25.00 and I don't want to pay postage."
    Me: "Sir, it is £25.00 each."

Me: