X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• On the bottom!

On the bottom!

I've worked the tobacco counter for one day. I'm still learning where everything is, and God help you if you're asking for an obscure brand.

I had an older "gentleman" come in looking for such a brand. He handed me an old box, which was helpful, and then told me it was "on the bottom." So I'm searching the bottom shelves and happen upon some cigarillos of the same brand. There's nothing next to them, so I ask if he wants the cigarillos, assuming we don't have the cigarettes. Instead of being polite, he says:

"The words 'On the bottom' mean on the bottom."

I played the polite yet dorky store clerk and got him out of there with his cigarettes, but boy was I pissed.

Look asshat, "on the bottom" can mean a million things coming from a customer. It might mean the actual bottom row, or just a row near the bottom. Don't treat me like I'm stupid just because you buy some piece of shit off brand that no one else buys.

What is this "sales tax" you speak of?

I also had a guy fight me today over paying sales tax. He swore up and down that he'd never paid over a certain price for his cigarettes, even though I told him that the price he was saying WAS the price, only before sales tax was added.

Seriously, why is sales tax some big mystery? It's not like my store is on the state border - he had to have paid sales tax at some point before making it to us. (I bet the line behind him was getting just as irritated as I was.)

General Irritation

Why do some of these people act like showing ID is coming as a shock? You're buying a controlled item that requires some form of acceptable identification, and not all stores have the same policy. Common sense dictates that you should therefore HAVE ID in case you need it.

Some people just grumble and move on, while others try to feed me some excuse as to why I shouldn't need to ask for ID.