This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The 8 cent tantrum

This is a bit of a short one. Ok I am a computer salesman but where I really sell well is printers because they don't change out anywhere near as fast as computers so I have the prices and ink yields memorized for the popular ones, this is a great aid when selling. I will round off so I can say it quicker and it's just easier for the customer. The ink is 38.99 I'll tell them it's about 40 bucks.

I'm talking with someone about a brother printer, I quote the prices for the toner while rounding off. I quote the 51.92 toner as 52 dollars and the 72.59 toner as 73 dollars.

This man who's listening nearby (note, not the guy I'm talking to right now) suddenly storms off down the aisle and looks at where we have the toner on the shelf and then comes back and angrily states that I said the price wrong and that it was actually 51.92 and storms away.

Me and my customer are horribly confused as to why this perfect stranger even cared or what the problem was.
    Interviewer: What is your greatest weakness?
    Me: I expect competence from my coworkers.

And wouldn't there be tax added as well ... so the final price would be at least $52?

Comment

My customers worry about the most insignificant stuff, too, like go-backs sitting on my counter or my shirt being wet (because I was cleaning something). One got angry about the go-backs. She was upset that I wasn't as concerned about them as she was. I mean, they were just sitting there, where they might be stolen, in plain sight of me, the cameras, and 30 other people. (Methinks maybe she has a little issue with kleptomania and it was a temptation. Other than that, I have nothing.)
      "Is it hot in here to you? It's very warm, isn't it?"--Nero, probably

Comment

Yep. Some customers are like little kids who haven't had enough sleep. The tiniest thing can set them off.