This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Keyboards gone wrong

Hi all I'm new here, and a big fan. I work as a marine scientist/technician on a lot of oceanography projects. A big part of my job is making sure computer systems work when put out to sea. I'm not a proper geek (no formal training), but I spend a lot of time building, testing and troubleshooting systems.

So I get this call one day from a colleague (so if this should be in the other forum, my apologies). We work together a lot even though we are on opposite coasts.

C: Colleague
    Me:

C: Sea? you have to help me!! How do I change my keyboard!?!
    Me: Wha?!?
    C: My keyboard settings!! I accidentally set my computer to a Dvorjak keyboard!
    Me: Why?
    C: It doesn't matter why!! But evaluations are in, and mine was horrible, and I'm working on a rebuttal.
    Me: How?
    C: I opened notepad and typed in all the keys, and now I'm copying and pasting each individual letter to make a rebuttal, but its taking too long and I'm going to miss the deadline!!
    Me: uh, well lets see... (I forget what I did but it was about 3 minutes of figuring), try this.
    C: Oh thats it!!! Thank you Thank you Thank you!!! Bye!

The kicker? Shes our software writer/developer. And we *have* to use Windows, because she can only write programs for Windows. And she was arguing with an evaluation that probably said that her knowledge wasn't up to snuff or something

Don't you just love when a luser changes something, and then CAN'T FIGURE OUT HOW TO CHANGE IT BACK????

And, to correct you, if you spend a lot of time building, testing and troubleshooting systems, that makes you a proper geek. Lack of formal education with it just raises your level of geekdom.
    SC: “Yeah, Bob’s Company. I'm Bob. It's my company.” - GK
    SuperHotelWorker made my Avi!!

Comment

Ditto what tech angel said, you're a proper geek. Welcome to the herd.