Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Greetings that you KNOW mean bad things...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings that you KNOW mean bad things...

Scary Greeting Lady: "Hi, I'm a retired English professor on vacation, and I'm having trouble connecting to the school..."

I walk her through going to google.com and [schoolname].edu. She definitely has an internet connection, but then she starts insisting she "can't connect to [her] Firefox."

It turns out, she's used to a two-step process:
    1.) Double-click on the Firefox shortcut on her desktop
    2.) When the webmail page (which was apparently her home page until this weekend) opens, log in.

Hence, webmail = "Firefox"

I'm not certain if she was running the browser Firefox at that point, as there was no Tools=>Options menu to reset the homepage. She seemed content to type in webmail.[schoolname].edu once she learned that it was where she got her "Firefox", though.... heh.

So it eventually worked out... but oh dear, that is a very, VERY scary introduction. Retired, english department, on a new network, out of the state.... SCARY!!

I'd've started twitching immediately, but then after I figured out what she meant, explained what firefox was, and how to get it onto her laptop <.< Cause, I'm a mozilla whore.... I only use MSIE when a site flat out requires it, and I only use those sites like... once every six months.
    Ma'am, I could care less about the time your precious Fifi found a baby squirrel and raised it as her own, I just want to know if you've ever been told you had diabeetus.

Comment

You know there's a few extensions for FF that place a IE rendering engine into the FF browser, right? I use IE tab so I don't have to leave my beloved FF. Works like a charm.
      Jim: Fact: Bears eat beets. Bears. Beets. Battlestar Gallactica.
      Dwight: Bears don't eat bee... Hey! What are you doing?
      The Office

Comment