X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home projector setup - opinions?

Hi all

I'm contemplating a home projector set up for home cinema. I'm thinking of something like this for the media section of it, but that's not the hard part.

See, I've got no experience of the whole projector vs screen thing and distance etc. Anyone fancy looking at the following?

This is the projector I'm currently looking at.

This is the screen. Not necessarily going to go with that company, or those models, but I'm up for thoughts.

However, the main element I have concerns about is space. The spare room I'm looking at converting isn't as big as I'd like. It's 3m by 3.6m in metric. The screen I'm looking at is about 2m wide, but the entrance door doesn't half get in the way of the screen.

The long walls are fine, but the shorter walls have the window on one side (not a good thing to have behind a screen) or the door, that opens halfway along the wall, so to go down the long part of room would mean moving the screen every time I wanted to leave the room. The alternative is a diagonal setup to avoid this, effectively the screen across the corner of the short wall not taken up by the door. I reckon I can squeeze that in, with a 'throw distance' of 3.2m at most.

Anyone attempted similar? Any thoughts?

Rapscallion

http://www.epson.co.uk/gb/en/viewcon...ts/specs/12138

Minimum projection ratio is 1.32:1. This means that to fill up your 2.3M diagonal screen, the projector needs to be a bit over 3 meters away. Make sure you account for space behind the screen and behind the projector, and the depth of the projector as well.

Comment

Thanks! Er, just how much over the 3m distance? If it's shorter, it's going to not fill it completely, right?

Rapscallion

Comment

Well, 1.32 * 2.3 = 3.036. That is, I think, to the focal point of the projector, which is probably not far behind the front lens.