This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Simple question from a simple guy.

My subscription with Norton expires at the beginning of March. I have been hearing so many good things about AVG and am seriously thinking of switching.

My questions are these. Should I download and install the AVG before I delete Norton? Do I need to disable Norton to download AVG?

Considering I'm an administrator on an adult web site and in an adult chat room and I use a yahoo email address there, is AVG enough. I know that I never had a problem with Norton as far as it missing viruses or worms.

I'm sorry, this sounds like something I should know. Help me out please.
    Last edited by bigjimaz; 02-09-2008, 06:43 AM.
    This isn't an office. It's Hell with fluorescent lighting.

AVG can be set up to scan your emails incoming and outgoing if you use a program similar to Outlook (whichever you prefer). If you use yahoo in-browser, it should have its own anti-virus to look after itself.

Now, as for order-of-operations:
    1. Download AVG.
    2. Unplug computer from network
    3. Uninstall Norton.
    4. Make damned sure Norton's completely gone.
    5. No, really. Check again.
    6. Install AVG, set auto-update and scan times.
    7. Reconnect to network.

This order means you won't be vulnerable while switching over, and that you won't have them fighting each other when installing/etc.
    Ba'al: I'm a god. Gods are all-knowing.

http://unrelatedcaptions.com/45147

Comment

Fully agree with Broomjockey for 2 reasons:

1. It's a bad idea to have 2 anti-virus programs on one computer. They don't get along and while they're trying to remove each other, they're letting real threats in.

2. Norton has a bad habit of leaving parts of itself still on the system which causes no end of issues. Before you uninstall, download their removal program at this address first, or you may lose your connection. No joke, I've seen it happen too many times.