X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adding a Windows license; hard drive issue

Hi all,

Right now I have two computers that I assembled myself. (I'm not an expert on computers, by any means; I'm just cheap). My downstairs computer is used mostly by me, and sometimes by my wife; it's running Windows XP that I purchased retail (upgrade version). I still have the XP disk as well as my old Win98SE upgrade disk, along with the activation codes for both.

My upstairs computer is used by the kids, and for internet access when the downstairs computer is in use. It's running Win98SE. It's networked to the downstairs computer and uses the downstairs printer when we want to print something.

I'd like to upgrade the upstairs computer to Windows XP. I've been told that you can just purchase a license for a second computer, without having to go out and buy a new XP disk. Is this true, and if so, how would I go about it? Would it be easier to just buy a second XP disk from e-Bay or an online vendor (since I don't see them in the stores any more)?

My other issue is the downstairs computer. When I set it up, I thought it would be a good idea to partition the hard drive, so I have the OS on the C: partition, most of my programs on the D: partition, storage and downloads on the E: partition. I even set an F: partition for the Windows swapfile (the drive was originally formatted when I had Win98 on the downstairs computer as well).