X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mac mini and dial-up connection

Morning all!

A colleague of mine uses a Mac Mini on dialup on the tesco.net service in the UK. Over the last couple of days, it's failed to connect.

http://memberservices.tesco.net/Tesc...iceStatus.aspx is the URL for the service status - it's blocked at work for some reason. Am asking for unblocking, but Google cache reckons it's currently thought of as fine on dialup.

The cable goes straight from the phone lines to the computer, so no external modem is involved.

Symptoms are:

Dialing, sometimes times out, disconnects and reconnects. Sometimes it connects, authenticated, then says "disconnected by peer". Then says 'resetting modem' and starts dialing again. After a few goes, it says unable to connect and please try again.

Been doing this a couple of days. I've very little experience of Macs, so asking the wider community if there are any obvious things to try out.

All assistance appreciated.

Rapscallion

I've never had a mac but when the dial up of old computer was in the living room and doing that it usually meant the modem was dying. Not sure if that was always the case the computer itself was old. Changing it out usually solved the problem.

Comment

if it's the modem your friend might want to consider an external...

i've used a usb modem for my macbook because it doesn't have an internal dialup modem (ethernet only).

google search: usb dial up modem for mac

Comment

Good idea - are there any diagnostics for Macs to give an idea of whether or not it's a hardware issue?

Rapscallion

Comment

Nothing really officially Apple-released, as Apple hasn't really "supported" modems in a while to my knowledge.

I think the best other option is to 1) establish that it's not line noise/loose connection somewhere, and 2) try another modem/computer on the same line to prove the modem is at fault.
          Coworker: Distro of choice?
          Me: Gentoo.