X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Work and Medical Procedure Recovery?

Ok, again, as it relates to this thread:

http://www.customerssuck.com/board/s...d.php?t=113059

I've got a few questions as far as advice goes...

My boss and my lead already know I'm going to need about a month off to recover. That will be granted to me (in fact, my boss and lead suggested using my vacation time and disability to take time off).

However, I'm still going to need to be on a "rehabilitation" program as part of the recovery process. This is going to last a few months after I'm allowed to return to work.

I work as a software guy, so I pretty much have a desk job.

Part of my "rehabilitation" is to periodically take walks, and do some exercises.

So my questions are:

1. Should I talk to my boss about being able to get up and walk around for 10-15 minutes every 45 minutes to an hour? An accommodation, or should I just explain that it's part of my rehab program and just do it?

2. Should I also ask if there's a place up here (I work in a multi-story skyscraper, we have floors 2-16 of a 50 story building) that I can do some exercises? We have "mother's rooms" and "prayer rooms" up here, but I think it would be inappropriate for me to use those.

3. (Optional) Should I swap my chair for a fitness ball?

Honestly, I'm planning on doing Tai Chi until they tell me I can do more rigorous exercise, then I'm planning on doing a type of Yoga, in addition to the Tai Chi.

Right now, I'm anticipating my surgery being toward the end of January.
    Skilled programmers aren't cheap. Cheap programmers aren't skilled.

I think you should wait until you see the rehab people before any of that. You're jumping the gun IMO.

Comment

After my last two surgeries, the hospital staff wanted me out of bed and walking the halls as much as I could. When I got home, every hour I would walk up and down my front porch for 15 minutes.