This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So Angry I Could Commit Authorcide...

This one is a saga. I can't bear to type out the full extent of the horrors, so shall try to keep it brief. As an editor I deal with many books at one time, but this one has now taken up two solid weeks of my time, 8 hours a day.

The book was commissioned before I joined the company, and was due to be published FOUR YEARS AGO. The only reason we are still trying to print this book is because it contains incredibly valuable and rare interviews. The crimes committed by this author are many. They include:

1) Being five years late in handing in the manuscript.

2) Sending a manuscript so disordered and badly written that it took UberBoss (the other editor on my team, and the one who commissioned this car wreck) 3 weeks to edit, a week being the average. While the interviews themselves were gold, the 200,000 words actually written by the author (the interviewer and supposed historian) were terrible.

3) Sending over 300 pictures without names, and the list of captions in 4 separate documents without any clue as to what caption went with what picture.

4) Getting angry when we asked her to provide numbered pictures and captions.

5) Being the most entitled and haughty bitch to ever write an email, including writing in capitals, which is pretty much shouting.

6) Winning the award for 'author putting most pictures of themselves in a book'. She is no oil painting.

Eventually we got the book paged, that is to say, had our designers take the Word documents and all the pictures and make it into a book in InDesign, the paging programme used by publishers. We sent hard copy proofs to her. Her response?

1) We had edited out everything good and she had contacted the Society of Authors and would not allow us to publish the book in its current state as to do so would be against her moral rights.